XMB Forum Software
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author: Subject: [Resolved] No database connection (using 000webhost)?
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-23-2022 at 01:45 PM
[Resolved] No database connection (using 000webhost)?


URL zum Board: https://xmb.infinityfreeapp.com/
XMB Version: 1.9.12

I keep getting this error when trying to install the board ... I don't know, what I'm doing wrong. :(
I'm not sure if this is something with the configuration method I'm using, I don't quite understand that configuration thing.

Bild_2022-04-23_153917437.png - 56kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-23-2022 at 01:50 PM


This seems to be the Database name and username.
It's simply "xmbase" and "xmbusername", this id-thing was added automatically.

Bild_2022-04-23_154925013.png - 18kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-23-2022 at 02:10 PM


Anyway, I will try to reset the whole thing and to start again ...
View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-23-2022 at 02:32 PM


Nope, I keep getting the same error.
I used the second option: "Attempt to create config.php: This option will attempt to create config.php directly onto the server. For this to work, the current config.php must have a CHMOD Value of 666" because I don't know where to create the config.php for the first option. There is this config.php-file already.
Also I just hoped that the CHMOD Value was already correct because I don't know where to change that.


Bild_2022-04-23_162934632.png - 59kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 437
Registered: 6-3-2002
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 4-27-2022 at 01:20 AM


Perhaps try another webhost. I tested and got the same issue.


xmbtest.PNG - 50kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-28-2022 at 06:38 AM


Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Perhaps try another webhost. I tested and got the same issue.


Thanks, could you maybe suggest a good one for free?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 437
Registered: 6-3-2002
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 4-29-2022 at 04:29 AM


Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  
Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Perhaps try another webhost. I tested and got the same issue.


Thanks, could you maybe suggest a good one for free?


I don't use any myself, so cannot endorse any, but a quick google search reveals
https://www. infinityfree .net/
and their website appears to offer php, mysql and subdomains without ads.

I set one up as a test:
http://xmb. infinityfreeapp. com/index.php

Also nsure your config.php file has this set:
$tablepre = 'xmb_';


View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-29-2022 at 05:27 AM


Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  
Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Perhaps try another webhost. I tested and got the same issue.


Thanks, could you maybe suggest a good one for free?


I don't use any myself, so cannot endorse any, but a quick google search reveals
https://www. infinityfree .net/
and their website appears to offer php, mysql and subdomains without ads.


Thank you!
I really don't know if it's me, but I've got the same thing here ...


Bild_2022-04-29_072625837.png - 53kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 437
Registered: 6-3-2002
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 4-29-2022 at 05:43 AM


Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  
Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  
Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Perhaps try another webhost. I tested and got the same issue.


Thanks, could you maybe suggest a good one for free?


I don't use any myself, so cannot endorse any, but a quick google search reveals
https://www. infinityfree .net/
and their website appears to offer php, mysql and subdomains without ads.


Thank you!
I really don't know if it's me, but I've got the same thing here ...



It does work (I've added spaces so these don't turn into links):
https://xmb. infinityfreeapp. com (note you can make it an https / SSL site once you get the basic site http running).


Ensure config.php file has this set:

$tablepre = 'xmb_';

and that this is set to whatever they show (it's not localhost)
$dbhost = 'sql206. epizy .com';

and
$full_url = 'http://yoursubdomain .infinityfreeapp .com/';


eg:

// Database connection settings
$dbname = 'epiz_3169999_xmb'; // Name of your database
$dbuser = 'epiz_3169999'; // Username used to access it
$dbpw = 'whateverthepwdis'; // Password used to access it
$dbhost = 'sql206. epizy .com'; // Database host, usually 'localhost'
$database = 'mysql'; // Database type, currently only mysql is supported.
$pconnect = 0; // Persistent connection, 1 = on, 0 = off, use if 'too many connections'-errors appear

// Table Settings
$tablepre = 'xmb_'; // XMB will prefix each table name with the string you specify here. 'xmb_' is a common choice.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-29-2022 at 06:56 PM


Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  
Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  
Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Perhaps try another webhost. I tested and got the same issue.


Thanks, could you maybe suggest a good one for free?


I don't use any myself, so cannot endorse any, but a quick google search reveals
https://www. infinityfree .net/
and their website appears to offer php, mysql and subdomains without ads.


Thank you!
I really don't know if it's me, but I've got the same thing here ...



It does work (I've added spaces so these don't turn into links):
https://xmb. infinityfreeapp. com (note you can make it an https / SSL site once you get the basic site http running).


Ensure config.php file has this set:

$tablepre = 'xmb_';

and that this is set to whatever they show (it's not localhost)
$dbhost = 'sql206. epizy .com';

and
$full_url = 'http://yoursubdomain .infinityfreeapp .com/';


eg:

// Database connection settings
$dbname = 'epiz_3169999_xmb'; // Name of your database
$dbuser = 'epiz_3169999'; // Username used to access it
$dbpw = 'whateverthepwdis'; // Password used to access it
$dbhost = 'sql206. epizy .com'; // Database host, usually 'localhost'
$database = 'mysql'; // Database type, currently only mysql is supported.
$pconnect = 0; // Persistent connection, 1 = on, 0 = off, use if 'too many connections'-errors appear

// Table Settings
$tablepre = 'xmb_'; // XMB will prefix each table name with the string you specify here. 'xmb_' is a common choice.


I've checked my config.php-file many times now - everything seems to fit. Can there be any other sources of error?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 437
Registered: 6-3-2002
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 4-30-2022 at 01:20 AM


Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  

I've checked my config.php-file many times now - everything seems to fit. Can there be any other sources of error?


Human error!

Can you copy and paste your config.php here, minus the actual password?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 4-30-2022 at 10:13 AM


Quote: Originally posted by lottos  
Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  

I've checked my config.php-file many times now - everything seems to fit. Can there be any other sources of error?


Human error!

Can you copy and paste your config.php here, minus the actual password?


Sure!
Here it is:

<?php
/**
* eXtreme Message Board
* XMB 1.9.12
*
* Developed And Maintained By The XMB Group
* Copyright (c) 2001-2021, The XMB Group
* https://www.xmbforum2.com/
*
* This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or
* modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License
* as published by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2
* of the License, or (at your option) any later version.
*
* This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
* but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
* MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
* GNU General Public License for more details.
*
* You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
* along with this program. If not, see <https://www.gnu.org/licenses/>.
*
**/

if (!defined('IN_CODE')) {
header('HTTP/1.0 403 Forbidden');
exit("Not allowed to run this file directly.");
}

// Database connection settings
$dbname = 'epiz_31620938_xmbase'; // Name of your database
$dbuser = 'epiz_31620938'; // Username used to access it
$dbpw = '[mypwd]'; // Password used to access it
$dbhost = 'sql207.epizy.com'; // Database host, usually 'localhost'
$database = 'mysql'; // Database type, currently only mysql is supported.
$pconnect = 0; // Persistent connection, 1 = on, 0 = off, use if 'too many connections'-errors appear

// Table Settings
$tablepre = 'xmb_'; // XMB will prefix each table name with the string you specify here. 'xmb_' is a common choice.

// Address settings
// In full_url, put the full URL you see when you go to your boards, WITHOUT the filename though!!
// And please, remember to add the / at the end...
$full_url = 'http://anemoia.epizy.com/';

// Other settings
// Adds comments to all template output like <!-- template start: index -->...<!-- template end: index -->
// These comments may invalidate HTML DTDs and should be used for development purposes only.
// Default value: false;
$comment_output = FALSE;

// Alternative mailer
// some hosts prevent the direct use of sendmail, which php uses to send out emails by default.
// To get around this, we have included code which will contact a separate SMTP server of your
// choice, and will send the mail trough that. The following mailer-options are available:
// 'default' => php's internal mail() function. No additional values need to be set:
// (does not require a username/password/host/port)
// 'socket_SMTP' => a connection to the SMTP server trough sockets. Requires the username,
// password, host and port values to be entered correctly to work.
$mailer['type'] = 'default';

// mailer-options (for socket_SMTP only, currently)
$mailer['username'] = 'username';
$mailer['password'] = 'password';
$mailer['host'] = 'mail.example.com';
$mailer['port'] = '25';

// Plugin Settings
$i = 1;
// Plugins are the links in the navigation part of the Header. Plugins built-in by default include Search, FAQ, Member List, Today's Posts, Stats and Board Rules.
// To add extra plugins (links of your own), just edit the code between Start Plugin Code and End Plugin Code. If you with to add more than one, simply copy that block, paste it and add the second one.

// Start Plugin code
$plugname[$i] = ''; // This is the name of your plugin. eg. Avatar Gallery, TeddyBear, etc.
$plugurl[$i] = ''; // This is the location, link, or URL to the plugin
$plugadmin[$i] = false; // Is this plugin only for admins? Set to true if the plugin can only be seen/used by (super-)admins, false when it's can be used by anyone
$plugimg[$i] = ''; // This is the path (full URL) to the image to show in front of the text.
$i++;
// End plugin code.

// Start Plugin code for plugin #2
$plugname[$i] = ''; // This is the name of your plugin. eg. Avatar Gallery, TeddyBear, etc.
$plugurl[$i] = ''; // This is the location, link, or URL to the plugin
$plugadmin[$i] = false; // Is this plugin only for admins? Set to true if the plugin can only be seen/used by (super-)admins, false when it's can be used by anyone
$plugimg[$i] = ''; // This is the path (full URL) to the image to show in front of the text.
$i++;
// End plugin code for plugin #2

// To make multiple plugins, copy and paste this plugin-code, so you have multiple entries.

// Registration settings
/***************
* The ipcheck, checks if your server is reading a valid IPv4 format. If not, it will kill the script.
* This is a legacy "feature" of XMB that should be turned off by changing the $ipcheck variable to 'off'
****************
* The allow_spec_q variable specifies if Special queries (eg. USE database and SHOW DATABASES) are allowed.
* By default, they are not, meaning $allow_spec_q = FALSE;
* To allow them, change $allow_spec_q to true ($allow_spec_q = true;)
****************
* The show_full_info variable lets you decide whether to show the Build and Alpha/Beta/SP markings in the HTML or not.
* Change the value to true to show them, or false to turn them off.
* Default = TRUE;
****************/

$ipcheck = 'off';
$allow_spec_q = FALSE;
$show_full_info = FALSE;

// Debug-mode

/**
* To turn on DEBUG mode (you can then see ALL queries done at the bottom of each screen (except buddy-list & u2u)
* just uncomment this variable. These queries are ONLY visible to the user currently loading that page
* and ONLY visible to Super Administrators. Comment first line and uncomment second line to use debug mode.
*/

define('DEBUG', TRUE);
// define('DEBUG', FALSE);

/**
* To enable logging of all MySQL errors (necessary in the case of registration, login, or captcha errors), comment first
* line and uncomment second line. Note the log file will be visible to the public unless it is protected
* by your web server configuration. The file name will be 'error_log' unless you change the PHP configuration.
* If the chmod settings of this directory prevent file Write then the log will not be created.
*/

define('LOG_MYSQL_ERRORS', TRUE);
// define('LOG_MYSQL_ERRORS', FALSE);

// Do not edit below this line.
// ---------------------------
return;
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 437
Registered: 6-3-2002
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 5-1-2022 at 12:38 AM


Looks ok.

When you run install/index.php?step=4

ensure the settings are also placed there.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 5-1-2022 at 09:22 AM


@lottos Yup, here:



Bild_2022-05-01_112053784.png - 44kB Bild_2022-05-01_112040372.png - 78kB

And the problem stays the same:



Bild_2022-05-01_112214050.png - 46kB
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 437
Registered: 6-3-2002
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 5-2-2022 at 02:52 AM


Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  
@lottos Yup, here:





And the problem stays the same:







Maybe just check there are no extra space characters after the password in the config.php file and the config screen.

Failing that, if you feel comfortable you can always u2u me the login details and I can check too.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
TheOutlaw
Member
***




Posts: 14
Registered: 4-10-2022
Member Is Offline


[*] posted on 5-2-2022 at 09:15 AM


Sure, I'll do that. I don't see any other chance to get that thing working.
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 437
Registered: 6-3-2002
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 5-2-2022 at 11:08 AM


Quote: Originally posted by TheOutlaw  
Sure, I'll do that. I don't see any other chance to get that thing working.


Forum up and running.
View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.12
XMB Forum Software © 2001-2021 The XMB Group
[Queries: 16] [PHP: 44.4% - SQL: 55.6%]