XMB Forum Software
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author:

[Resolved] Change 'Yahoo', 'MSN' profile options to 'Facebook', 'Twitter' etc?

annabelle sucks
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 16
Registered: 6-19-2014
Member Is Offline

Mood: Nerdy

question.gif posted on 6-21-2014 at 10:39 AM
[Resolved] Change 'Yahoo', 'MSN' profile options to 'Facebook', 'Twitter' etc?


Full Board URL: http://mb.perfectdenial.org
XMB Version: 1.9.11

I'm wondering if it would be possible to change the email inputs for yahoo and msn to Facebook URLs/twitter handles? I've had a look around the templates, but I can't seem to figure out which areas to edit. :/ Any ideas?

Thank you ^_^ :heart:




View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 362
Registered: 6-3-2002
Location: Competitions Australia: https://www.lottos.com.au/
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 6-21-2014 at 01:24 PM


memcp_profile template

look for

<tr class="tablerow">
<td bgcolor="$altbg1" width="22%">$lang[textyahoo]</td>
<td bgcolor="$altbg2"><input type="text" name="newyahoo" size="25" value="$member[yahoo]" /></td>
</tr>
<tr class="tablerow">
<td bgcolor="$altbg1" width="22%">$lang[textmsn]</td>
<td bgcolor="$altbg2"><input type="text" name="newmsn" size="25" value="$member[msn]"/></td>
</tr>


and either hard code change for example $lang[textyahoo] to Facebook
or add $lang[textfacebook] to the lang file then change template $lang[textyahoo] to $lang[textfacebook]


Beck up template and any files before changing.




Largest list of competitions online!
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
annabelle sucks
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 16
Registered: 6-19-2014
Member Is Offline

Mood: Nerdy

[*] posted on 6-21-2014 at 05:15 PM


Thank you, I've changed the lang files and updates the [textyahoo] to [textfacebook] - but it doesn't seem to be appearing in the member profile, or at the bottom of a users post. Are there any more templates which I need to edit?
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 362
Registered: 6-3-2002
Location: Competitions Australia: https://www.lottos.com.au/
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 6-21-2014 at 10:05 PM


viewthread_post_yahoo template - you will need to create an image for facebook and change it accordingly in the template along with changes from yahoo to facebook. change http://profiles.yahoo.com/$post[yahoo] to https://facebook.com/$post[yahoo] and lang['textyahoo'] and yahoo.gif...

<a href="http://profiles.yahoo.com/$post[yahoo]" onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;" title="{$lang['textyahoo']}"><img src="$imgdir/yahoo.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>


member_profile template - needs changes for seeing the new facebook/twitter data in the member profile





Largest list of competitions online!
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
annabelle sucks
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 16
Registered: 6-19-2014
Member Is Offline

Mood: Nerdy

[*] posted on 6-22-2014 at 01:27 PM


Hmm, I've changed the 'yahoo' to 'facebook' in the templates you've mentioned, but it hasn't made a difference it seems, I've also uploaded a facebook.gif to the image directory.

I've attatched .txt files of the templates mentioned including my edits in them incase it helps.

Thank you :)

Attachment: member_profile.txt (4kB)
This file has been downloaded 131 times

Attachment: memcp_profile.txt (9kB)
This file has been downloaded 100 times

Attachment: viewthread_post_yahoo.txt (224B)
This file has been downloaded 95 times
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 362
Registered: 6-3-2002
Location: Competitions Australia: https://www.lottos.com.au/
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 6-22-2014 at 10:36 PM


Remember you are not changing the database reference to yahoo, only the description, so this line for example in member_profile should retain what was originally there:

<td bgcolor="$altbg2"><a href="http://facebook.com/{$memberinfo['yahoorecode']}" onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;">{$memberinfo['yahoo']}</a></td>




Largest list of competitions online!
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
annabelle sucks
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 16
Registered: 6-19-2014
Member Is Offline

Mood: Nerdy

[*] posted on 6-23-2014 at 04:17 PM


Ah I see, so I should keep the $memberinfo['yahoorecode'] and $memberinfo['yahoo'] areas the same?

I've attached updated .txt files also.

Attachment: viewthread_post_yahoo.txt (221B)
This file has been downloaded 100 times

Attachment: memcp_profile.txt (9kB)
This file has been downloaded 110 times

Attachment: member_profile.txt (4kB)
This file has been downloaded 123 times
View user's profile View All Posts By User
annabelle sucks
Member
***


Avatar


Posts: 16
Registered: 6-19-2014
Member Is Offline

Mood: Nerdy

[*] posted on 6-25-2014 at 06:32 PM


Never mind! I figured it out and it's working :) Thank you for your help lottos!
View user's profile View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 362
Registered: 6-3-2002
Location: Competitions Australia: https://www.lottos.com.au/
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 6-25-2014 at 10:00 PM


Quote: Originally posted by annabelle sucks  
Never mind! I figured it out and it's working :) Thank you for your help lottos!


You're very welcome - I knew you would be able to do it with the clues!

One more hint - the viewthread.php, look for the yahoo and msn stuff and change the onmouse over to reflect the new social media as the current ones show the old onmouse overs.




Largest list of competitions online!
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
lottos
Administrator
********




Posts: 362
Registered: 6-3-2002
Location: Competitions Australia: https://www.lottos.com.au/
Member Is Offline

Mood: pass me a TimTam

[*] posted on 6-26-2014 at 12:37 PM


:) nice work!



Largest list of competitions online!
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Mouser
XMB Contributor
********


Avatar


Posts: 198
Registered: 4-14-2008
Member Is Offline

Mood: Christmasy. Yes, in September.

[*] posted on 6-30-2014 at 04:53 PM


I posted something like a long time ago. It will add all kinds of input fields. You can add/remove as required.

Because a series are added here at once, you'll see what you have t do to add more.

http://www.xmbforum2.com/hacks/contact-information.txt




View user's profile View All Posts By User

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11 (Debug Mode)
Forum Script Software by XMB © 2001-2020 The XMB Group
[Queries: 16] [PHP: 8.5% - SQL: 91.5%]
Funded with thanks to competitions website.