XMB Forum Software
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version  
Author:

[0000492] File Upload

Passthru
Experienced
***




Posts: 19
Registered: 12-25-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-6-2012 at 04:26 PM
[0000492] File Upload


Full Board URL: http://finfeatherandfur.net/forums/
XMB Version: 1.9.11

1.9.11.13 to be exact, fresh forums as im just now starting a new site.

The attachment and multi attachment fields for a new post or reply is not there. where would i look exactly for this. I have been all over settings, and in settings the required fields are there. just not showing in the forums.

Also, i did not install these the normal way, I was going to but when i got logged into my cpanel is was one of the scripts available, so i tried it out and the install was a snap. this also may be the problem.

I have installed the portal by John, but the problem existed before hand. can i run an install on top of what is there? like doing a upgrade?
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Passthru
Experienced
***




Posts: 19
Registered: 12-25-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-6-2012 at 04:37 PM


Also, seems i always had trouble with attachments storage directory, since its a new forum, if it would be easier for someone to have access to the forums and server, let me know and ill get you some details.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
miqrogroove
XMB 1.9.11 Lead Developer
*********


Avatar


Posts: 322
Registered: 10-1-2002
Location: Florida
Member Is Offline

Mood: Past Three O'Clock

[*] posted on 3-6-2012 at 04:46 PM


Attachments would be enabled in the forums panel, rather than the settings panel. Try /forums/cp.php?action=forum&fdetails=1
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Passthru
Experienced
***




Posts: 19
Registered: 12-25-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-6-2012 at 05:03 PM


Yes, its ticked off in there as well.

I may do a complete fresh install tonight after work, ill bet the problem goes away.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
miqrogroove
XMB 1.9.11 Lead Developer
*********


Avatar


Posts: 322
Registered: 10-1-2002
Location: Florida
Member Is Offline

Mood: Past Three O'Clock

[*] posted on 3-6-2012 at 05:18 PM


Screen shot of the attachment settings would help.

Is file uploading enabled on your server?
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Passthru
Experienced
***




Posts: 19
Registered: 12-25-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-6-2012 at 05:36 PM


Miqro, on the server, i just dont know, its been a long time so im still feeling my way around in there refreshing memory.

here are the screen shots, im going to have to get ready for work access from there to anything is zip except by iphone so ill see this around midnight my time.


settings.jpg - 108kBforum.jpg - 75kB
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
miqrogroove
XMB 1.9.11 Lead Developer
*********


Avatar


Posts: 322
Registered: 10-1-2002
Location: Florida
Member Is Offline

Mood: Past Three O'Clock

[*] posted on 3-6-2012 at 05:58 PM


Seems like a bug in the sense the options are enabled but the feature isn`t supported by the server. We used to have similar bugs with the captcha system. The solution is to enable file uploading for your server. The patch we need should prevent enabling attachments in the forums panel and explain the server does not allow uploads.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Passthru
Experienced
***




Posts: 19
Registered: 12-25-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-6-2012 at 11:22 PM


Don't think I have ever had to enable uploads server side, is this something host will have to do, or if I can I haven't a clue where to look.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
miqrogroove
XMB 1.9.11 Lead Developer
*********


Avatar


Posts: 322
Registered: 10-1-2002
Location: Florida
Member Is Offline

Mood: Past Three O'Clock

[*] posted on 3-7-2012 at 12:31 AM


You can confirm by running phpinfo() and looking at the file_uploads value. It can only be changed by editing the php.ini file.
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Passthru
Experienced
***




Posts: 19
Registered: 12-25-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-7-2012 at 01:00 AM


Got it, I'll run it tonight and see what it returns.



UPdate

ran phpinfo and it shows file uploads as on.

file_uploads On On
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
Passthru
Experienced
***




Posts: 19
Registered: 12-25-2005
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] posted on 3-9-2012 at 08:51 AM


miqrogroove, you can mark this resolved! I did this all to myself during set up, i done a stupid thing as I put anonymous as user name when i set the boards up, once it hit me thats what may be the problem, changed my name and all was well.:lol:
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User
miqrogroove
XMB 1.9.11 Lead Developer
*********


Avatar


Posts: 322
Registered: 10-1-2002
Location: Florida
Member Is Offline

Mood: Past Three O'Clock

[*] posted on 3-9-2012 at 04:03 PM


Okay, that would be a second bug actually. We need to make sure the installer doesn't let the Super Admin choose a reserved name during install. :)
View user's profile Visit user's homepage View All Posts By User

  Go To Top

Powered by XMB 1.9.11 (Debug Mode)
Forum Script Software by XMB © 2001-2020 The XMB Group
[Queries: 16] [PHP: 28.3% - SQL: 71.7%]
Funded with thanks to competitions website.